One Undecided’s View of The Vice Presidential Debate

I will begin this post just as I did my previous one about the Presidential debate last week.

I am not a Republican. I am not a Democrat. I side with Democrats on many issues. I side with Republicans on many others. I still don’t know who I’m going to vote for in November.

I am not going to evaluate any specific topics, points or responses. I’ll let others do the analysis and mudslinging. Here’s what I saw.

Sarah Palin’s game plan was to defend Palin. She had a horrible week leading to the debate. She had no choice but to make up for it. She did not disappoint. She performed spectacularly. If you read my previous post on the first Presidential debate, you know that I was impressed by Obama’s ability to address the moderator as well as McCain by looking at both of them. Palin executed the same ability perfectly by addressing the moderator and her opponent. She looked comfortable, had a smile on her face most of the time, and did not hesitate as she has in previous interviews. Biden looked as bad as McCain did – old, stiff, angry. The coaching she received in the past few days was clearly very effective. Good for her.

Joe Biden didn’t seem to have a game plan. Either he was not prepared for this debate or Palin performed so well that made Biden look bad. I have no doubt that if the format of the debate was different in a way to allow for detailed back and forth exchanges, Palin would not have performed as well. But Biden knew the format. It was his debate to lose. And he did.

Experience v.s. new blood stood out as the theme of this debate. Experience did not benefit Biden. He relied on his record in Congress, and he bet his VP nomination on the idea that the average American viewer might actually give a darn about the past or about meaningless statistics. Wrong move, Biden! Palin may not have presented many details on anything, but that was actually the right plan. We all know that VPs are virtual no-bodies. They are merely there to help the real Presidential nominee. The average American wants to hear specifics from and learn the record of Presidential nominees, not from VP nominees. I was watching CNN’s reaction meter of undecided men and women voters. Almost every time Biden talked about his record in Congress, he flat-lined the graph. No one cares. Palin achieved the same reaction when she talked about her experience as mayor and governor.

At the end, I know that VP debates are not decisive or consequential. Not much is gained or lost by them.

I remain undecided.

2 Responses to One Undecided’s View of The Vice Presidential Debate

  1. MT says:

    Did you write this before you even saw the debate or are you just stupid

  2. jmjorat says:

    MT

    It is fairly clear that you lack the intellectual prowess to comment on my post. Perhaps it was too complicated for you to comprehend. Attacking me is easy. Forming a coherent thought . . . that requires developed cognitive abilities. Do you have them? Hello? Calling MT?!

Leave a comment